Make your own free website on

The DIGIgraphics Fantasy Football League

2013 Award Winners

News and Notes
League History
Record Book
Owner's Records
The Governor's Cup
My Fantasy League

The 2013 DFFL Awards

Here are the results of the DFFL News award winners for 2013.
Most Valuable PlayerPeyton Manning (Mean Machines)  Manning wins this year’s award in dominant fashion. A second round draft selection (21st overall) the Machines QB set a new league record for fantasy points scored in a season with 218 from 41 TD’s and 4125 passing yards -- breaking the previous high of 210 points he originally set back in 2004. Manning scored at least 7 points every week and had 9 games where he scored at least 13 points, as well as games with 36, 28 points and 25 points.  Manning accounted for 32.7% of the Mean Machines offense.

Finishing a distant second in the voting was Drew Brees (Cosa Nostra) taken 5th overall, the 4 time DFFL MVP had another stellar season with 3794 passing yards, and 29 TD’s = good for 164 fantasy points.  Brees scored in double figures in 8 games, had at least 22 points on 4 occasions, and was 27.5% of Cosa Nostra’s production.  Matthew Stafford (Solvent Orange) with 149 points also received a handful of votes.

Least Valuable Player – In one of the closest votes in recent memory Trent Richardson (Ministers of Hindsight) wins this year’s Ashley Lelie Award  in a photo finish over T.Y Hilton (Cold Filtered Weasels), Hakeem Nicks (Moonshiners) and Montee Ball (Insurgent Gerbils)  

While all 4 were equally useless, Richardson – the 7th player selected overall - helped emasculate the Ministers by putting up all of 11 fantasy points in his 9 starts, while Hilton (drafted 67th overall) made a serious run at LVP with his total of 7 fantasy points in 10 starts – Nicks (taken at pick 50) was also in the conversation with 8 points out of his 10 starts, while Ball - selected 39th – finishes the regular season with an amazing negative 2 fantasy points from 7 starts

Rookie of the Year Eddie Lacy (Cheeseheads from Hell) Lacy was the best of a thin crop of rookies this season.  Taken 37th overall, Lacy as scored a modest 44 fantasy points in his 10 starts for the Cheese. Also receiving consideration was Zac Stacy (Ministers of Hindsight) a free agent pickup in week 5 Stacy picked up 33 points in his 5 starts.  

Late Round StealKnowshon Moreno (Moonshiners) the second-to-last pick (167th overall) went from an afterthought to the third highest scoring running back in the league this season with 77 fantasy points from 10 starts. Runner-up was Julius Thomas (Mean Machines) the 165th pick who also could have won the award, but only appeared as a starter 5 times.

The other 11 players selected in the 14th round (Starter point total in parentheses) were Philip Rivers (86), Sebastian Janikowski (5), Brandon Weeden (0), Garrett Hartley (97), Christian Ponder-Steele (0), Denarius Moore (1), Mohamed Sanu (0), Emmanuel Sanders (10), Thomas (25), David Akers (17) and Riley Cooper (15)

First Round Draft Bricks – It may be just as easy to tell you who didn’t win this award as the awards committee recommends nearly half the first round achieve Brick status this season after 5 players are contenders for this years award:

  • Doug Martin (Solvent Orange) 1 TD, 456 rushing yards and a whole 11 fantasy points in 6 starts for the #3 overall selection before going on the IR 
  • The 6th pick Arian Foster (Cold Filtered Weasels) didn’t fare much better – 700 combo yards, 2 total TD’s for 22 points in 6+ games before also being lost for the year.
  • At pick #7 the aforementioned Trent Richardson (Ministers of Hindsight) achieves a rare DFFL Awards double-shot (see Least Valuable Player)
  • #10 pick Ray Rice (Insurgent Gerbils) looks like a phenom by comparison with his 26 points from 700 combo yards and 4 TD’s over 12 starts.
  • We also grudgingly include #9 pick LeSean McCoy (Jerk Store) with 57 points in 12 games his 4.8 points per game average would hardly be considered first round value

Free Agent pick up of the Year No winner – no one had the impact of past winners such as Peyton Hillis in 2010 and Victor Cruz in 2011.  So we’ll give this year’s honor to Zach Line (Cold Filtered Weasels) simply because DFFL News still considers this one of the most absurd acquisitions in recent memory.

Sentimental Value Award –  Congratulations to Bryce Brown (Moonshiners) Le’veon Bell and Joe Flacco (Cheeseheads from Hell) and DeAngelo Williams (Gamblers) the proud recipients of this year's Chuck Evans Award, given annually to the player(s) who are drafted by a DFFL team, spend the entire year on the roster, but never make it into the starting lineup. 

There are a couple of firsts with this year’s award - as it’s the first time ever that two players from the same team have won the award, and Williams becomes the first back-to-back SV award winner, as he also spent the entire 2012 season riding the bench for the Gamblers   

Blindfold Award – This award is given to the player who makes the most of their single start – This year’s winner: Andrew Luck (Mean Machines) everything else that the Machines have done so far this year has worked, so is anyone really surprised? In his lone appearance in week #9 Luck was a pedestrian 18 for 40 for 271 yards but also had 3 TD passes and threw for a 2 point convert good for 16 points, although it was hardly needed given the Machines managed to edge the Cold Filtered Weasels by 41 that week.  Runner up was WR Rueben Randle (Solvent Orange) in his only appearance in week #5 Randle posted an impressive stat line of 6-96-2 = 13 points

Todd Collins Award - This award, created in 2010, is to honor the player who has the worst performance in their single start.  Sad to say there was no winner this year

Award for the Most Awards Award -This award is given annually to the teams who appear most often in the "Bogus Move of the Week" column. Congratulations to Ministers of Hindsight who managed to make the BMOTW honor roll on 6 different occasions in 2013.  This is the franchise’s first AFTMAA.

Runners up include Insurgent Gerbils with 5 awards followed by Cosa Nostra, Cold Filtered Weasels and FTC with 3 mentions each, Gamblers and Moonshiners each appear twice while single winners included Cheeseheads from Hell, Jerk Store, Solvent Orange, Mean Machines and Drone Bait.  This is the first time since 2010 that every team has appeared at least once in BMOTW.  Great job everyone.