Make your own free website on

The DIGIgraphics Fantasy Football League

2016 Award Winners

News and Notes
League History
Record Book
Owner's Records
The Governor's Cup
My Fantasy League

The 2016 DFFL Awards

Here are the results of the DFFL News award winners for 2016
Most Valuable Player  Drew Brees (Cosa Nostra) The now 5 time DFFL MVP (2008, 2009, 2010 and co-MVP in 2012) was inexplicably the 47th player selected in the draft and the 6th quarterback chosen overall.  Brees has produced 3913 passing yards and 30 Touchdowns so far this year, and even ran for 2 more scores.  His 144 fantasy points were 24.3% of the Cosa’s league leading offense.  He had 8 games with at least 12 points and 3 occasions where he scored more than 18 points.  Finishing second was Heinekins QB Aaron Rodgers – selected 18th overall, Rodgers put up typical A-Rod numbers: 29 passing TD’s, 3 rushing scores, along with 3283 passing yards = 127 points or 22.7% of the Heinekins offense.  Finishing third was Jerk Store RB David Johnson – with 1709 combined yards and 15 Touchdowns – good for 118 fantasy points from the Jerk’s keeper selection.  Johnson scored at least 2 points in all but 1 week, and put up a double digit score 6 times. Johnson becomes the first non-quarterback to receive MVP consideration since LaDainian Tomlinson won the award back in 2006

Least Valuable Player – While there are several worthy candidates for this year’s there seems to be little argument that RB Duke Johnson (FTC) is the deserving winner of this year’s Ashley Lelie award. “The Duke” managed a total of 1 fantasy point in his 7 starts with F T C – what cemented his status as LVP was that in his 7 starts he had a TOTAL of 63 touches – from 34 carries and 29 receptions. 

Other’s who received consideration were Cheeseheads from Hell WR Jordan Matthews (1 point in 5 starts), WR Stephon Diggs (Waning Weasels) (6 points in 8 starts) and for the first time in DFFL Awards history a team was nominated as the Green Bay Packers Defense (Cheeseheads from Hell) put up a paltry 12 points in 12 starts – from 8 Interceptions, 4 fumble recoveries and nothing close to any kind of return for a touchdown.  (editors note)  this award only involves players who have score at least 1 fantasy point as a starter – I’m sure there are several players who have produced zero points in multiple starts, but I’m unable to track that without a lot of extra work.

Rookie of the Year – Ezekiel Elliot (Heinekins) wins by a landslide in possibly the most dominating rookie performance in league history - 1285 rushing yards, 322 receiving yards, 13 total TD’s and 106 fantasy points from the #7 pick in the draft. Finishing a distant second in the voting was Dallas Vowboy teammate Dak Prescott (‘merica’s Team) with 52 points in 6 starts, followed by Jordan Howard (Cosa Nostra) with 53 points in 8 fantasy starts 

Late Round Steal Matt Ryan (Gamblers/Cheeseheads from Hell) Ryan was selected with the 10th pick of Round #12 (142nd overall) and ended up producing 78 points in his 8 starts after being traded to the Cheeseheads.  RB Jay Ajayi (FTC) ended up being another steal – selected two picks after Ryan, Ajayi became a mainstay in the FTC lineup with 29 points in 6 starts after both Jerk Store and Cosa Nostra gave up on him. Other 12th round selections (in order) included: Tavon Austin, Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Jerick McKinnon, Kansas City Defense, Zach Ertz, Ryan Tannehill, Darren Sproles, Tyler Eifert, Bilal Powell, Ryan, Marcus Mariota and Ajayi

First Round Draft Bricks – Once again, it might be easier to tell you who wasn’t a bust as injury and ineffectiveness once again dominated the first round selections.

Pk# Franchise              Pos Player                 Pts  GS

  1 Jerk Store             RB  TODD GURLEY             18   8

  2 Cosa Nostra            WR  ANTONIO BROWN           84  12

  3 Gamblers               RB  ADRIAN PETERSON          0   2

  4 Orange Lives Matter    WR  JULIO JONES             64  12

  5 Mean Machines          WR  ODELL BECKHAM           64  12

  6 Spartans               TE  ROB GRONKOWSKI          19   6

  7 Heinekins              RB  EZEKIEL ELLIOTT        106  12

  8 'merica's Team         RB  LE'VEON BELL            48   9

  9 F T C                  RB  JAMAAL CHARLES           6   1

 10 Kurdish Backed Gerbils WR  DEMARYIUS THOMAS        19   8

 11 Cheeseheads from Hell  WR  DEZ BRYANT              44   7 (with Gamblers)

 12 Waning Weasels         WR  DEANDRE HOPKINS         27  12


  • The #1 overall pick Todd Gurley (Jerk Store) produced 451 rushing yards and 3 TD’s in 8 starts before being benched
  • The #3 pick Adrian Peterson (Gamblers) 50 yards in 31 carries.
  • #6 pick Rob Gronkowski (Spartans) 25 receptions and 3 TD’s from 38 total targets in 9 games.
  • #9 pick Jamal Charles (FTC) with another lost season due to injury
  • #10 Demaryius Thomas (Kurdish Backed Gerbils) – Averaged 5 receptions and 63 yards in his 8 starts
  • #12 DeAndre Hopkins (Waning Weasels) 2 words: Brock Osweiler.

Free Agent pick up of the Year - See the Rookie of the year results (above), as both Jordan Howard (Cosa Nostra) and Dak Prescott (‘merica’s Team) were the best of a mediocre free agent crop. Davante Adams (Heinekins) also flashed on occasion – just enough to receive a mention 

Sentimental Value Award –  This season’s recipient(s) of the Chuck Evans Award, - given annually to the player(s) who are drafted by a DFFL team, spend the entire year on the roster, but never make it into the starting lineup.  This years prize will be shared between Jeremy Langford (Heinekins), Alfred Morris (Heinekins) and James Starks (Spartans)

Blindfold Award – This award is given to the player who makes the most of their single start – This year’s winner: Marcus Mariota (Cosa Nostra) with 15 fantasy points in his only appearance – a week #5 start that produced 163 passing yards, 3 TD’s and a rushing touchdown.  Runner up was Cameron Artis-Payne (Cosa Nostra) with a 13 point, 85 yard, 2 TD performance in week #5 

Todd Collins award - This award - created in 2010 - is to honor the player who has the worst performance in their single start.  There were a total of 209 players who recorded at least 1 fantasy point during the season, while there were 2 others who recorded a single negative point -- both happened to make their mark in the Jerk Store starting lineup as Antone Smith and J.J. Nelson managed to only record a lost fumble in their only appearances of 2016

Award for the Most Awards Award - This award is given annually to the teams who appear most often in the "Bogus Move of the Week" column.  Congratulation go to the Spartans – who capture their first ever DFFL Award for appearing in Bogus Move an astonishing 6 times over 13 weeks.  Finishing right behind were the Waning Weasels and Kurdish Backed Gerbils – who despite winning only 5 games between them, somehow managed to botch 10 other winnable games between them. FTC and Jerk Store each received 3 mentions during the year, while ‘merica’s Team, Mean Machines, Cheeseheads from Hell and the Gamblers all finish with 2 awards. Orange Lives Matter and the Heinekins each made it once.  Cosa Nostra was the only team not to appear in BMOTW this season.