Make your own free website on

The DIGIgraphics Fantasy Football League

2012 Award Winners

News and Notes
League History
Record Book
Owner's Records
The Governor's Cup
My Fantasy League


The 2012 DFFL Awards

Here are the results of the DFFL News award winners for 2012.
Most Valuable Player – For the first time since 1992 we have co-MVP’s.
This year’s award will be shared by Drew Brees (Cosa Nostra) and Tom Brady (New Orange Order). Each player ended the regular season with 153 fantasy points. Brees, the #9 overall selection threw for 3674 yards and 31 TD’s and scored at least 11 fantasy points in 9 of his 12 starts, while Brady – picked 6th overall produced for 3537 yards, 25 TD’s and ran in another 3 himself. Brady had at least 8 points every week until his last start.   Finishing a close third was yet another former MVP in Peyton Manning (Mean Machines) the 22nd player chosen, Manning threw for 3510 yards with 29 TD passes, good for 148 fantasy points.

Least Valuable Player Ryan Mathews (Cosa Nostra) wins this years Ashley Lelie Award in dominating fashion. The 16th selection overall was a worthy LVP candidate by amassing a grand total of 6 fantasy points in his 8 starts. Finishing a close second was DeShaun Jackson (Carolina Copperheads) selected 45th overall Jackson played a key role in the Copperheads dismal season producing 7 fantasy points in his 7 starts.  Also receiving consideration were Titus Young (Carolina Copperheads) and Vick Ballard (Cosa Nostra) each with 7 points in their 6 starts. 

Rookie of the Year Robert Griffin III (Cold Filtered Weasels) the 95th pick in the draft walked away with this years award by scoring 92 points in his 10 starts for the #2 playoff seed. Also receiving votes were his Weasel teammate Doug Martin 79 point in 12 starts, taken 47th overall.  Andrew Luck (Section 8 Gerbils) did not make enough fantasy starts to merit ROY consideration

Late Round StealRandall Cobb (Jerk Store) by scoring 40 fantasy points over 7 his starts Cobb was one of the few highlights in the Jerk’s otherwise dismal season. Cobb was selected with the first pick in round 12 / 133rd overall.  The other players selected in the 12th round were - in order: Santonio Holmes, Jason Snelling, David Wilson, Alex Henery, Brandon Pettigrew, Detroit Defense, NY Giants Defense, Brandon LaFell, Robert Turbin, Rueben Randle and Danny Amendola   Note:  Mikel LeShoure (Sloppy Second Kickers) did not qualify for this years award since he was originally drafted by another team 159th overall, but was later released.

First Round Draft Bricks – There are a couple of players that we considered brick worthy. LeSean McCoy (Carolina Copperheads) selected 4th overall McCoy came through with a grand total of 26 fantasy points in his 9 starts. Also receiving recognition is Chris Johnson – auto drafted 7th overall Johnson ended up 38 points in 9 starts for the Sloppy Second Kickers – with 28 of those points coming in 2 games.  Joining them were #8 pick Darren McFadden (Cheeseheads from Hell) who put up just 13 points in 5 starts before his annual injury, #10 selection Andre Johnson (FTC / Cheeseheads from Hell) who posted all of 25 points in 11 starts, as well as #12 pick Matt Forte (Jerk Store) with 31 points from 10 appearences - hardly first round-worthy production.

Free Agent pick up of the Year No winner – no one had the impact of past winners such as Peyton Hillis in 2010 and Victor Cruz last season. Mikel LeShoure was probably the closest thing (39 points in 8 starts for Sloppy Second Kickers)

Sentimental Value Award – Congratulations to Rashard Jennings (Carolina Copperheads) and DeAngelo Williams (Gamblers) the proud recipients of this year's Chuck Evans Award, given annually to the player(s) who are drafted by a DFFL team, spend the entire year on the roster, but never make it into the starting lineup. 

Blindfold Award – This award is given to the player who makes the most of their single start – winner: Alex Smith (Jerk Store) one of the rare bright spots for the Jerk’s as Smith nailed it in week # 5 by turning in a stat line of: 18 of 24, for 303 yards and 3 TD – good for a 17 point performance in his only DFFL appearance of 2012.

Todd Collins award - This award, created in 2010, is to honor the player who has the worst performance in their single start.  
This year award will be shared between Santonio Holmes (Gamblers) and Isaac Redman (Cheeseheads from Hell) each player ended up with a minus 1 point in their only appearances this year

Award for the Most Awards Award -This award is given annually to the teams who appear most often in the "Bogus Move of the Week" column. Congratulations to Section 8 Gerbils who managed to make the BMOTW honor roll on 4 occasions in 2012.  This is their Gerbils first AFTMAA win since 2007.

Runners up include Cosa Nostra and Carolina Copperheads with 3 awards each followed by  New Orange Order, Cheeseheads from Hell, Doomsday Profits and Jerk Store with 2 mentions each, while single winners included FTC, Gamblers and Sloppy Second Kickers.

It’s no coincidence that Mean Machines and Cold Filtered Weasels were the only teams that did not appear in a Bogus Move during the 2012 regular season.