Make your own free website on

The DIGIgraphics Fantasy Football League

2015 Award Wnners

News and Notes
League History
Record Book
Owner's Records
The Governor's Cup
My Fantasy League
DIGIgraphics Fantasy Football League Article - The 2015 DFFL Awards

The 2015 DFFL Awards

Here are the results of the DFFL News award winners for 2015
Most Valuable Player – Tom Brady (Weasels) The 2015 MVP started the season as a backup on the Weasels depth chart, as the 73rd player selected overall became the runaway choice for MVP this season with 3912 passing yards, 28 TD’s, and 3 rushing TD’s – good for 144 fantasy points in 11 starts.  Brady scored at least 5 points every week, and had 8 games scoring at least 12 points – accounting for 32.6% of the team’s offense.  He becomes a 3 time DFFL MVP award winner - previously winning the award outright in 2007 and sharing the honor with Drew Brees in 2012. It’s the second time a Weasel player has won the MVP award after Duante Culpepper won the award with the Wichita Linemen in 2000. Finishing a distant second was Steven Gostkowski (Gerbil Nation) selected just 6 picks after Brady, Gostkowski becomes the first placekicker in league history to receive MVP consideration by finishing the year with 113 fantasy points in 13 starts (26.8%) for the auto-piloted franchise. Finishing third in the balloting was Phillip Rivers (FTC) with 107 points in 12 starts.

Least Valuable Player – This seems to have become the most competitive category as once again there were a multitude of candidates for the award, with no one clearly standing out.  After much deliberation, it was decided to present this years Ashley Lelie Award to Melvin Gordon (Gerbil Nation) the 31st player selected overall appeared as a starter 7 times and managed to produce a negative 1 point - the first time in league history an LVP winner has finished below zero. Others receiving consideration were Roddy White (Gerbil Nation) 6 points in 6 starts, Frank Gore (‘merica’s Team) 10 points in 9 starts, Giovani Bernard (Jerk Store) 12 points in 9 starts and Jimmy Graham (Cosa Nostra) 17 in 11   

Rookie of the Year – Todd Gurley (FTC) wins ROY by a narrow margin. Selected at pick #43 Gurley’s 53 points in 9 starts was just enough to edge Marcus Mariota (Minister of Hindsight) .  Mariota was one of the few highlights of another disappointing Ministers season with 42 points in 6 starts.  Others rookies who received votes were Karlos Williams (Mean Machines) 36 points in 6 starts and Jeremy Langford (Heinekins) 36 in 5 starts

Late Round Steal – Devonta Freeman (Cosa Nostra/FTC) the 4th player selected in round #12 (136th overall) wins by a considerable margin. Tyler Eifert (Gerbil Nation) was the only other player that merited consideration after going 2 picks after Freeman. Other players selected in the 12th round were - in order: Owen Daniels, Andre Williams, Rashad Jennings, Freeman, Percy Harvin, Eifert, Blair Walsh, Bishop Sankey, Richard Rodgers, Antonio Gates, Ty Montgomery and Cecil Shorts.

First Round Draft Bricks – Once again, it would be easier to tell you who wasn’t a bust as injury and ineffectiveness once again dominated the first round selections.

  • The #1 overall pick Le‘veon Bell (Weasels) ended his year with 556 rushing yards, 3 TD’s = 30 fantasy points in 5 games
  • The #3 pick Jamal Charles (Heinekins) 33 points, 5 TD’s in 5 starts before going down.
  • #4 pick Eddie Lacy (Jerk Store/Inept Orange) was equally miserable regardless of which team he played for, scoring 1 TD - 8 points in 5 starts for Jerk Store, then 2 TD’s and 16 points in 5 starts for the Orange. It’s the second consecutive season Lacy has qualified for this award
  • #7 pick Andrew Luck (Gerbil Nation) the 2014 DFFL MVP has followed it up with 1150 passing yards, 11 TD’s an 9 INT’s = 33 point encore in his 4 appearances as a starter
  • #8 choice Marshawn Lynch (Ministers of Hindsight) 3 TD’s, 23 fantasy points in 8 starts
  • #10 DeMarco Murray (Mean Machines)  currently the 20th highest scoring RB in this league with 38 points in 10 starts
  • #11 Dez Bryant (merica’s Team) 15 fantasy points in the 6 games he’s played.

Free Agent pick up of the Year  No winner.  Out of the approximately 185 waiver moves that had been made during the regular season no one had the impact of past winners such as Peyton Hillis in 2010 or Odell Beckham Jr. in 2014. It’s also worth noting that no one had enough fantasy starts to merit consideration, while players such as DeAngelo Williams and Thomas Rawls were not eligible for the award since Williams was originally selected on draft day and Rawls appeared on two different rosters during the season. Kickers are exempt from this award

Sentimental Value Award –  By default Jordy Nelson (Cheeseheads from Hell) is the lone recipient of this year's Chuck Evans Award, given annually to the player(s) who are drafted by a DFFL team, spend the entire year on the roster, but never make it into the starting lineup. Runner up goes to Chris Johnson (Gamblers) who sat for 12 weeks before being released due to injury.


Blindfold Award – This award is given to the player who makes the most of their single start – This year’s winner: Kirk Cousins (F T C) with 17 fantasy points in his only appearance – a week #10 start that produced a 324 passing yards, 4 TD’s performance.


Todd Collins award - This award, created in 2010 is to honor the player who has the worst performance in their single start.  This year’s recipient is another Michigan State QB, as Brian Hoyer (‘merica’s Team) was credited with (-1) fantasy points for an interception in his lone appearance in week #10.

Award for the Most Awards Award -This award is given annually to the teams who appear most often in the "Bogus Move of the Week" column.  In a stunning development Rowdy Roddy Orange is the BMOTW Champion for 2015 – appearing in the Bogus Move column an amazing 6 times – including 4 times in the final 5 weeks to take the prize.  Early season favorite Cosa Nostra falls just short with 5 mentions, followed by FTC with 4.  Ministers of Hindsight, Weasels, Mean Machines and Gerbil Nation each showed up on 3 occasions, with Jerk Store and ‘merica’s Team each receiving 2 mentions  The Heinekins made BMOTW just once, meaning the Cheeseheads from Hell and obviously the Gamblers failed to make a bogus move this season.

It’s the second consecutive year the Gamblers have completely avoided this award, as they have now gone 32 consecutive weeks without even a mention