Make your own free website on

The DIGIgraphics Fantasy Football League

2018 Award Winners

News and Notes
League History
Record Book
Owner's Records
The Governor's Cup
My Fantasy League


The 2018 DFFL Awards

Here are the results of the DFFL News award winners for 2018
Most Valuable Player – Pat Mahomes (Cosa Nostra) the 107th player selected in the draft blew away the field with a total of 165 points in just 11 fantasy starts from 3667 passing yards, 37 TDs, 10 INT's and at least 14 fantasy points in 9 of his starts.  Finishing second was this year’s #1 overall selection Todd Gurley (‘merica’s Team) who scored 148 points in 12 starts from 1175 rushing yards, 15 rushing TD’s and an additional 4 receiving scores, and had at least one touchdowns in every week but one, plus double digit scoring in 6 games.  Perennial DFFL MVP candidate Drew Brees (F T C) finishes third after putting up 139 points in 12 starts from 3262 passing yards, 30 TD passes and 3 rushing scores.  Mahomes becomes the 17th different winner in the 27 year history of this award and the first player not named Manning, Brady or Brees to win the MVP since Andrew Luck did it in 2014

Least Valuable Player – This year’s Ashley Lelie Award goes to RB Derrick Henry (Spartans) Henry was the Spartans keeper selection (31st overall), and responded by producing a grand total of 5 fantasy points during his 8 weeks in the Spartans starting lineup – all coming from a mundane 310 rushing yards on 90 carries with 1 touchdown. Henry becomes the 9th consecutive Running Back to win the award. Dalvin Cook (Cosa Nostra/Lucky 7’s) finishes a close second in the balloting with a total of 8 fantasy points in 6 starts with two different teams. TE Evan Engram (Cosa Nostra/Spartans) also received consideration with 6 points from his 7 starts

Rookie of the Year – Saquon Barkley (Mean Machines) while the rest of their season was a dumpster fire Barkley was one of the few things that went right for the Machines this year.  Selected fifth overall – the highest a rookie has ever been selected - Barkley exceeded expectations with 102 fantasy points in 12 starts on 954 rushing yards, 602 receiving yards and 12 total TD’s.  No one else comes close to challenging for this year’s ROY award.

Late Round Steal – Tough to pinpoint a winner this year.  While there were multiple candidates extenuating circumstances made declaring a true winner challenging.  The winner should have been RB Sony Michel – but he doesn’t qualify since he was drafted in the 12th round by Mean Machines – then later dropped, Other candidates included RB Nick Chubb (F T C) the 10th pick of round 10, along with 11th round picks Cooper Kupp, Aaron Jones and Calvin Ridley (by ‘merica’s Team, Cheeseheads from Hell and Sacks in the City respectively) and 14th round pick Courtland Sutton by Mean Machines but none of them made enough fantasy starts to qualify for the award.

First Round Draft Bricks – It was an unusual season, as most of the top picks actually lived up to their draft position – with a few exceptions

 Here's a recap of the first round

  1.01 'merica's Team        RB  GURLEY,TODD         148 points in 12 starts

 1.02 Deficient Orange      RB  BELL,LE'VEON          0 points in 0 starts

 1.03 F T C                 RB  JOHNSON,DAVID        53 points in 12 starts

 1.04 Lucky 7's             RB  ELLIOTT,EZEKIEL      82 points in 12 starts

 1.05 Mean Machines         RB  BARKLEY,SAQUON      102 points in 12 starts

 1.06 Heinekins             RB  FOURNETTE,LEONARD    33 points in 4 starts

 1.07 Spartans              WR  BROWN,ANTONIO        88 points in 12 starts

 1.08 Cheeseheads from Hell WR  HOPKINS,DEANDRE      65 points in 12 starts

 1.09 Sacks in the City     RB  GORDON,MELVIN       102 points in 10 starts

 1.10 Gamblers              RB  MCCAFFREY,CHRISTIAN  90 points in 12 starts

 1.11 Cosa Nostra           RB  COOK,DALVIN           8 points in 6 starts

 1.12 Jerk Store            TE  GRONKOWSKI,ROB        9 points in 7 starts


  • #2 overall pick Le’Veon Bell - 0 fantasy points after never taking a snap in 2018
  • #3 choice David Johnson - 53 fantasy points with numbers nowhere close to expectations
  • The #6 pick Leonard Fournette – 33 fantasy points on 5 TD’s  – all coming in the past 4 weeks
  • #11 pick Dalvin Cook – A combined 486 rushing and receiving yards from 88 total touches with 1 touchdown in 6 starts between two teams
  • #12 pick Rob Gronkowski  - 29 catches, 454 receiving yards and 1 TD as a starter with another 3 games missed due to a rare injury

Free Agent pick up of the Year  After 165 waiver moves the results show it was a fairly run-of-the-mill collection of FAPUOTY candidates, so it might have to be F T C RB Matt Breida – even though DFFL News mocked and ridiculed the move in the pre-season after Jerrick McKinnon was lost for the year Breida did ok for himself with 38 fantasy points in 8 starts.  Also in contention was Cosa Nostra TE Jared Cook with 36 points in his 8 appearances   

Sentimental Value Award –  The Chuck Evans Award - given annually to the player(s) who are drafted by a DFFL team, spend the entire year on the roster, but never make it into the starting lineup.

This year’s prize will be shared between Deficient Orange RB Le’Veon Bell (the second overall pick) Gamblers RB Kenyan Drake (Selected 58th overall) Deficient Orange RB Tevin Coleman – (pick122) and Cheesehead from Hell WR Dez Bryant (drafted 156th)  


Blindfold Award – This award is given to the player who makes the most of their single start. This year’s winner is Mitchell Trubisky (Cheeseheads from Hell) with 16 fantasy points in his only appearance – a week #7 start where he went 26 for 50 for 333 passing yards, 2 passing TD’s and a rushing score. Runner up was F T C back up QB Case Keenam who threw for 322 yards and 2 scores – good for 10 points during his only start in week #6


Todd Collins Award - This award was created in 2010 is to honor the player who has the worst performance in their single start.  

For the first time since this award was created there is no winner this year. There were a total of 216 players who recorded at least a fantasy point greater or less than zero.  The closest that we came to a winner would have been Spartans TE Jack Doyle, who produced a negative 1 point – but it came in two fantasy starts

Award for the Most Awards Award - This award is given annually to the teams who appear most often in the "Bogus Move of the Week" column. There were a total of 34 occasions in which a team was referenced in the BMOTW column during the 13 weeks of the 2018 season.

Congratulation go to the Gamblers – who are the runaway winners this year by appearing in Bogus Move a remarkable 7 times  – thanks in large part to his deft stockpiling of mostly mediocre quarterbacks.  Finishing in second place were both Jerk Store and Deficient Orange with 4 mentions each, ‘merica’s Team, Mean Machines, Heinekins and Cosa Nostra each received 3 acknowledgements, while Sacks in the City, Spartans and F T C finished with 2 awards each. Despite finishing at 3-10 The Cheeseheads from Hell somehow only received one award.  Which makes the Lucky 7’s the only team never to appear in BMOTW this season.


Enter supporting content here